University of Virginia, College and Graduate School of Arts and Sciences

Graduate Job Listing

Most of our graduating Ph.D. students find jobs in astronomy, and go on to successful careers in astronomy. Since 1990, about 85% of our new Ph.D.’s have found astronomy research positions, and 100% have obtained jobs related to their graduate training. First positions after the Ph.D. are typically at academic institutions or national laboratories. Here is a listing of the last three years of graduates and their current jobs:

Name & email address Ph.D. year Current position

Jeff Carlin

jc4qn@virginia.edu

2010 Postdoctoral Researcher, Rensselaer Polythechnic Institute

Mei-Yin Chou

cmy@asiaa.sinica.edu.tw

2010 Postdoc, Academia Sinica, Institute of Astronomy and Astrophysics

Ori Fox

ori.d.fox@nasa.gov

2010 NPP Postdoctoral Researcher, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center

Chan Park

chanpark@kasi.re.kr

2010 Instrumentation Scientist, Korea Astronomy and Space Science Institute

Jake Simon

jbsimon@jila.colorado.edu

2010 JILA Postdoctoral Researcher, University of Colorado

Dan Wik

drw2x@virginia.edu

2010 NASA Postdoctoral Fellow, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center

Ka Wah Wong

kwong@bama.ua.edu

2010 Postdoctoral Researcher, University of Alabama

David Nidever

dnidever@virginia.edu

2009 Postdoctoral Researcher, University of Virginia

Srikrishna Kanneganti

srikrishna@mpe.mpg.de

2009 Postdoctoral Fellow, Max-Planck-Institut für extraterrestrische Physik

Richard Mellon

2009 Ab Initio Software

Jodie Morgan

2009  

Ricardo Muñoz

ricardo.munoz@yale.edu

2008 Postdoctoral Researcher, Yale University

Alok Singhal

2008 Merfin, LLC

Jennifer Bartlett

jennifer.bartlett@usno.navy.mil

2007 United States Naval Observatory

Tanim Islam

islam5@llnl.gov

2007 Design Physicist, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

Jeffrey Oishi

J.Oishi@astro.berkely.edu

2007 Postdoctoral Researcher, UC Berkeley

Many of our former graduate students get permanent positions as well. Here’s a list of the rest of our graduates since 1967 and where they are now.

Name & email address Ph.D. year Current position

Gregory Sivakoff

grs8g@virginia.edu

2006 Postdoctoral Researcher, University of Virginia

David Rosario

rosario@ucolick.org

2006 Postdoctoral Fellow, University of California, Santa Cruz

Allyson Sheffield

alsheffield@vassar.edu

2006 Visiting Assistant Professor, Vassar College

Peter Frinchaboy

p.frinchaboy@tcu.edu

2006 Assistant Professor, Texas Christian University

Scott Randall

srandall@head.cfa.harvard.edu

2005 Mission Planner, Chandra Science Operations Team, Harvard Center for Astrophysics

Jeff Crane

crane@ociw.edu

2004 Research Associate, Observatories of the Carnegie Institution of Washington

John Silverman

john.silverman@ipmu.edu

2004 Faculty Member, Institute for Physics and Mathematics of the Universe, University of Tokyo

Tony Sohn

tsohn@stsci.edu

2004 Postdoctoral Researcher, Space Telescope Science Institute

Jamie Ostheimer

jostheim@alumni.virginia.edu

2002 Northrop Grumman Information Technology

Wayne Winters

2002 Formerly: Science Faculty, Latin School of Chicago

Joshua Kempner

contact form

2002 Senior Imaging Scientist, VisEn Medical

Zhenping Huang

huang@ssvs.gsfc.nasa.gov

2001 IceCube Neutrino Experiment, University of Maryland, and NASA/GSFC

Michael Siegel

siegel@astro.psu.edu

2002 Research Associate, Penn State University

Chih-Yueh Wang

yueh@phys.cycu.edu.tw

2001 Department of Physics, Chung-Yuan Christian University, Taiwan

Chris Palma

cpalma@astro.psu.edu

2001 Associate Director of Outreach, Eberly College of Science, Penn. State

Franz Bauer

fbauer@astro.puc.cl

2000 Assistant Professor, Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile

Ronak Shah

ronak@bu.edu

2000 Research Astronomer, MIT Lincoln Laboratory

Raymond G. Ohl, IV

Raymond.G.Ohl@gsfc.nasa.gov

2000 Optical physicist, NASA/Goddard Space Flight Center

Eric Richards

1999 Senior Scientist, Q-Track Corporation

Noella L. D’Cruz

noelladcruz@gmail.com

1998 Associate Professor, Joliet Junior College

Jimmy Irwin

jairwin@ua.edu

1997 Assistant Professor, University of Alabama

Fan Fang

fan@ipac.caltech.edu

1997 Research Scientist, Spitzer Science Center

Vikram V. Dwarkadas

vikram@oddjob.uchicago.edu

1997 Senior Research Scientist, University of Chicago

Jonathan H. Whitney

1996 Formerly: Programmer, Kesmai Corporation

Edward M. Murphy

emm8x@virginia.edu

1996 Associate Professor, University of Virginia

David T. Frayer

dfrayer@nrao.edu

1996 Associate Scientist, NRAO Green Bank

Geary E. Albright

albrigge@jmu.edu

1996 Assistant Professor, Physics Department, James Madison Univ.

Phillip C. Plait

contact info

1995 The “Bad Astronomer”

Ricky Patterson

ricky@virginia.edu

1995 Senior Scientist, University of Virginia

Gregory S. Hennessy

gsh@libra.usno.navy.mil

1995 Data Reduction and Instrumentation Division, Astrometry Department, United States Naval Observatory, and Sloan Digital Sky Survey

William W. Dalton

1995 Technical Director, BioWare Austin

Charles H. Nelson III

charles.nelson@drake.edu

1994 Assistant Professor, Drake University and Director, Drake Municipal Observatory

Richard F. Gelderman

gelderman@wku.edu

1994 Associate Professor, Western Kentucky University

Prudence N. Foster

Pru.Foster@bristol.ac.uk

1994 Research Fellow, QUEST, University of Bristol

Michael W. Wise

wise@science.uva.nl

1992 Postdoc, Astronomical Institute “Anton Kannekoek”, University of Amsterdam

Eric A. Lufkin

1992 Morgan Stanley

Brian R. McNamara

mcnamara@uwaterloo.ca

1991 Professor, Waterloo University

John C. Houck

houck@space.mit.edu

1991 Research Scientist, Kavli Institute for Astrophysics and Space Research, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Michael N. Fanelli

m.fanelli@tcu.edu

1991 Deputy Director, Kepler Guest Observer Program

Jeffrey G. Mangum

jmangum@nrao.edu

1990 Scientist, National Radio Astronomy Observatory

Harry J. Lehto

hlehto@utu.fi

1989 Astronomer, Turku University, Piikkiö, Finland

David S. Adler

adler@stsci.edu

1989 Science and Mission Scheduling Supervisor and Lead, Long Range Planning Group, Space Telescope Science Institute

Melissa A. McGrath

Melissa.A.Mcgrath@nasa.gov

1988 Chief Scientist, Marshall Space Flight Center Science and Missions System Office, NASA

Robert T. Emmering

emmering@crl.com

1988 Charles River Laboratories  

Deborah A. Crocker

crock@bama.ua.edu

1987 Adjunct Associate Professor, University of Alabama

Raymond E. White III

rwhite@bama.ua.edu

1986 Professor, University of Alabama

James E. Wadiak

1986 President, BioTraces Inc. (deceased, 2003)

Andrew J. S. Hamilton

Andrew.Hamilton@colorado.edu

1984 Professor and JILA Fellow, University of Colorado

Alice K. Babcock Monet

alice@nofs.navy.mil

1984 Astronomer, Flagstaff Station, United States Naval Observatory

Patrick O. Seitzer

pseitzer@umich.edu

1983 Associate Research Scientist, University of Michigan

Susan G. Neff

susan.g.neff@nasa.gov

1982 Astrophysicist, GALEX Project Scientist, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center

Kerry A. Kingham

kak@cygx3.usno.navy.mil

1982 Earth Orientation Department, United States Naval Observatory

Ronald G. Probst

rprobst@noao.edu

1981 Scientist Staff, KPNO

Frank H. Levinson

1980 Founder and Principal Technologist, Finisar Corporation

Linda L. Dressel

1979 RJH Scientific Inc.

Thomas E. Strikwerda

1977 Space Science and Technology Department, Applied Physics Laboratory, Johns Hopkins University

Alan P. Marscher

1977 Professor, Boston University

James M. Huntley

1977 Lucent Technologies

Thomas E. Corbin

1977 Chief, Cataloging Division, United States Naval Observatory

Thomas M. Bania

1977 Professor, Boston University

Jan M. Hollis

1976 Assistant Chief, Space Data and Computing Division, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center

David M. Gibson

1976 Formerly: GEODSS Field Site, MIT Lincoln Laboratory

Harold A. McAlister

1975 Regents’ Professor, Georgia State University and Director, Center for High Angular Resolution Astronomy

Paul D. Hemenway

1974 University of Rhode Island

Ronald E. Zissell

1973 Astronomy Technician, Mount Holyoke College

Charles D. Smith

1973 unknown

Alvin C. Miller

1973 CSC, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center (retired)

Paul T. Giguere

1973 Los Alamos National Labs

Frank O. Clark

1973 VSBC, Air Force Research Laboratory

Haywood C. Smith

1972 Associate Professor, University of Florida

Fred D. Rosenberg

1972 Member, Technical Staff, Lincoln Labs, MIT

Dan Pascu

1972 Data Reduction and Instrumentation Division, Astrometry Department, United States Naval Observatory

Joseph W. Mast

1972 Professor Emeritus of Mathematics, Eastern Mennonite University

Dennis D. McCarthy

1972 United States Naval Observatory Earth Orientation Department, Retired

Mary Kay Hemenway

1971 Research Associate, Senior Lecturer, and Director, Educational Services Office, University of Texas, Austin

Catharine Garmany

1971 Senior Science Education Specialist - Astronomer, NOAO

Robert J. Doyle

1970 Associate Professor, Frostburg State University

Peter J. Shelus

1970 Research Scientist, University of Texas, Austin

John L. Hershey

1969 Astronomy Program, CSC, Space Telescope Science Institute

Richard A. Berg

berg_richard@bah.com

1969 Booz Allen Hamilton

George W. Lockwood

1968 Astronomer, Lowell Observatory

Paul H. Knappenberger

1968 President, Adler Planetarium and Astronomy Museum

Frank N. Bash

1967 Professor Emeritus, University of Texas, Austin