University of Virginia, College and Graduate School of Arts and Sciences

2020 Department of Astronomy Awards

May 29, 2020

During the virtual Astronomy Department Diploma ceremony on 17 May, the winners of the Lawrence W. Fredrick award of the Astronomy department and the winners of three undergraduate Astronomy awards were announced.  

Lawrence W. Fredrick Award
This award recognizes one or two outstanding astronomy graduate teaching assistants (TA) in the preceding year. The award is named for the Chair of the Astronomy Department in the 1960's and 1970's. This year's award goes jointly to Luca Beale and Daniel Lin. Luca was cited for his work as head TA, his role in the graduate mentoring of undergraduate majors and his work in organising the Bob Rood Graduate symposium. Daniel was cited by for his outstanding TA work, going above and beyond the call of duty in his efforts to help and educate undergraduate students. The award includes a monetary prize and a certificate.


The McCullough Scholarship Prize
This scholarship recognizes the outstanding academic and research work of a second-year undergraduate student in Astronomy or Astronomy-Physics. It is named for Dr. Timothy P. McCullough who who was a radio astronomer at the Naval Research Laboratory in Washington, DC. Dr. McCullough made some of the first radio measurements of many objects in the Solar System. The scholarship was established by his son, Gene McCullough, who is a U.Va. alumnus, graduating with a degree in Physics and
being in the first contingent of Echols Scholars at U.Va. As the scholarship was established only last summer(in 2019) after graduation, the winner of last year has not been yet announced publicly. So both last year and this year's winner are announced here. 2019's winner was Camryn Phillips. She did research with Prof Phil Arras on using the satellite Kepler data to  look for tidal effects caused by planets on their stars. 2020's winner is James Staeben. He worked with Prof Craig Sarazin on analyzing Chandra X-ray observations of clusters of galaxies, shedding light on how they form by merging processes. The award includes a $1000 prize and a certificate.


The Vyssotsky Prize
The Vyssotsky Prize recognizes an outstanding third year undergraduate student in Astronomy or Astronomy-Physics. Professor Alexander Vyssotsky worked at McCormick Observatory for 35 years beginning in 1923. This year, the Vyssotsky Prize goes to Josef Zimmerman. Josef did research with Physics Prof Kent Yagi on the study of the properties of nuclear matter in neutron stars using gravitational wave and X-ray observations. The Vyssotsky Prize consists of a certificate and a $1,000 fund for professional travel during the student's 4th year, such as an observing trip, or a presentation at a conference.


D. Nelson Limber Award
The D. Nelson Limber Award recognizes outstanding accomplishments in course work and astrophysical research by a graduating undergraduate major or majors. The award is named for Nelson Limber, who was a professor in the Astronomy Department at the University of Virginia and a leading figure in the theoretical study of the interstellar medium and galaxy clustering. This year, the Limber Award goes jointly to Megan Kenny and Eric Rohr. Both have excelled in their research work. Megan studied the properties of the solar wind and of the corona of the sun using VLA observations with NRAO scientist Tim Bastian. She will do graduate work at the University of Colorado at Boulder. Eric did research work in a variety of fields: with Prof Mark Whittle on Hubble data on a star-forming dwarf galaxy, and with Prof Shane Davis using a magneto-hydrodynamic code studying accretion disks around black holes. Eric spent last summer at the university of Zurich, Switzerland working on simulations of galaxy evolution. He will do graduate work at the University of Heidelberg. The prize consists of a certificate and an award of $1000.  Since this year it is shared, each recipient will receive $500.