University of Virginia, College and Graduate School of Arts and Sciences

Celebrating Our Undergraduate Prize Winners

May 20, 2017

The Deparartment of Astronomy is pleased to announce the following awards presented at Final Exercises on May 20, 2017:

Renato Mazzei has been selected as the 2017 recipient of the D. Nelson Limber Prize for the most distinguished undergraduate major. Renato has been working with Professor Craig Sarazin on an XMM-Newton X-ray observation of an Ultra-Luminous X-ray source (ULX) in a S0 galaxy, only the second ULX to be found in a globular cluster.  ULXs have X-ray luminosities which apparently exceed the Eddington luminosity for a stellar mass black hole.  The current hypotheses are that ULXs are X-ray binaries which either (a) contain an intermediate mass black hole (IMBH) or (b) a stellar mass black hole whose emission is beamed. Renato found a possible orbital period in the light curve of NGC 1380 ULX-1, which would imply that it contains a stellar mass black hole in a very compact binary, which may indicate that the black hole is accreting from a white dwarf star. Renato has also worked on numerical simulations of clusters of galaxies with NSF Postdoctoral Fellow Rukmani Vijayarajhavan and Professor Craig Sarazin. He is using the simulations to predict the abundances of heavy elements in a cluster produced by ram pressure stripping of galaxies. 

The award is named for D. Nelson Limber, a faculty member in the Astronomy Department who was a popular teacher and passed away at a very young age in 1977.

Martine Lokken has been selected as the 2017 recipient of the Vyssotsky Prize that recognizes an outstanding third-year undergraduate student. Martine has been working with Assistant Professor Nitya Kallivayalil and Research Associate Tobias Fritz on measuring the proper motion of Segue 1, one of the least luminous, dark-matter dominated small galaxies in the Local Group of galaxies. It has been held up as the prototypical galaxy that might be used as a probe of reionization, because it is so low-mass that its star formation was possibly turned off by the high UV background of the reionization era. That was however, in the absence of velocity data that could elucidate its past orbit. Based on Martine’s work, we now know that Segue is likely a very long-term companion of the Milky Way, and thus was probably quenched by its proximity to the Milky Way rather than being a relic of the reionization era. Attempts to claim it is such a relic should be therefore met with skepticism. Additionally, Martine has volunteered to help with Public Night at McCormick over the past year. At nearly every Public Night, she comes up to McCormick to help control and educate the crowds.

The award is named for Alexander Vyssotsky, a faculty member in Astronomy at the University of Virginia from 1923-1958. He surveyed the sky for faint nearby M-dwarf stars opening the door to the systematic study of the Sun's nearest neighbors and furthering the study of the structure of the Milky Way. The award was made possible by a generous gift from David Stedman who benefited from Vyssotsky's guidance and friendship.

Chris Hayes has won the Laurence W. Fredrick Teaching Assistant Award. This award recognizes graduate students that made outstanding contributions to the teaching efforts of the Department. As the teaching assistant for Associate Professor Kelsey Johnson's ASTR 1270 Unsolved Mysteries course, Chris has been an outstanding TA. He has excellent report with the students in the class, has given a number of substitute lectures and has worked seamlessly with the instructor to coordinate classroom activities. To sum up his work, Kesley Johnson reports that he "is truly amazing."

The award is named for Larry Fredrick on the occasion of his retirement from the faculty.

Congratulations to the award winners!


UVA Lawn Graduation